New Release Book Review: Oblivious by Ashlynn Mills

4.5 Stars

I thoroughly enjoyed Oblivious (The Herrera Cartel Book 2) by Ashlynn Mills, one of my favourite authors of dark romance.

Antonio, now working for the Herrera Cartel after a devastating event (which we read about in the prologue) tears his world apart. Antonio has locked down his emotions since losing his husband and best friend 15 years before and hasn’t had any sort of relationship since.

Along comes Phillip a bratty, snarky drug mule working for the cartel after being caught stealing from them. Phillip has a secret, a reason for being exactly where he is, though I can’t imagine ever putting myself in this sort of position no matter what.

These two men are thrown together when Antonio has to be his bodyguard on a drug trafficking job. I enjoyed every moment these two spent together and loved seeing Antonio become protective and then possessive of Phillip as the bratty young man wore down his carefully built walls.

There were some dangerous times for these two and some emotional times too, my heart was breaking for Phillip at one point, it’s not often I’m nearly crying in a dark mafia romance.

I was caught up in this story from the get-go and will eagerly be waiting for the next book in the series, or the next book Ashlynn Mills writes.

Though this can be read as a standalone it is recommended you read Conflicted the Forbidden first. I had only read Conflicted but it gave me an introduction to some of the side characters and the leader of the cartel.

Add to Goodreads


About the book

After leaving my old life behind, I’ve lived by a strict set of rules:

My job always comes first.

Don’t stand out.

Don’t get close to anyone.

Don’t make mistakes.

Don’t get distracted.

Never fall in love again.

These rules also mean nothing when it comes to a cute little drug mule I can’t stand to stay away from.

It’s my job to protect him on missions, not to want and crave him. Phillip Romos has slithered his way into my life, mind and heart and there’s no doubt he will be my downfall.

One thought on “New Release Book Review: Oblivious by Ashlynn Mills

Leave a comment