New Release Book Review: Ruined by Tania Joyce

I was given the opportunity to read an ARC of this novel by a new to me, Australian author. I was not expecting the emotional story that I got. I expected a rockstar romance, but this story went much deeper with a focus on endometriosis and autism being a couple of the themes in this book. There are some heartbreaking scenes in this story, so be warned you may need tissues.

IMG_20190310_133019This is the second book in the series, the first is Hunter, Kyle and Gemma’s story, but I felt this worked well as a standalone as enough of their past history is made known to us throughout the story. I will go back and read Ripped at some point though.

We meet Hunter, rockstar extraordinaire or so he seems, when he is trying to convince fashionista Kara to let her hair down with him for one night of fun. Despite Hunter’s ability to come across as a bit of an asshole, you can tell, well I could, that underneath there’s more to him than meets the eye.

Kara and Hunter make for an unlikely couple at the beginning, for a start they can’t stand each other. It was a pleasure to watch them grow and learn about each other as the story went on. I guess an unplanned pregnancy can create the need for many changes.

There’s plenty of drama, only a small amount of angst, (thank goodness as I can’t deal with real angsty stories) there’s romance and some corny bits too (which since it’s a romance it’s allowed).

Tania Joyce has written a story I really enjoyed, with characters I grew to care about, and some extremely heartfelt moments, I look forward to reading more of her work.

Thanks to the author for providing me with a digital copy for me to review. 

About the book: One night of fun turns into a nightmare. Newly single, broken-hearted and being told she’ll never conceive naturally, Kara Knight drowns her sorrows at her best friend’s engagement party and falls into bed with the one person who was on her never-touch list—playboy rock star Hunter Collins. 

Becoming pregnant is nothing short of a miracle.

But Hunter is haunted by a traumatic upbringing and isn’t prepared to become a father.

With Hunter on tour and Kara’s health at risk, is she destined to be a single mom? Or will a tragic twist of fate bring this unlikely pair together?

Amazon AU

Amazon US

 

 

5 thoughts on “New Release Book Review: Ruined by Tania Joyce

Leave a comment