Book Review: The Lost Boy by Rachael Wright

Wow, what an emotional journey I’ve just been on, especially during the second half of the novel. There were many times throughout I had tears threaten, but also moments of joy.

IMG_20190514_200721The story starts with a tragedy and a secret uncovered, both which completely throw Jack’s emotions into chaos. What a journey of growth and learning Jack and myself were taken on, from the moment Jack runs away from home.

Along Jack’s journey to find out who he is and where he fits in in his life, he meets some fabulous supporting characters. Each one has a story to tell and a part to play in helping Jack discover what he is searching for. This is a truly Australian story from the outback countryside to the straight talking characters. This story has a realness, an honesty and a harshness that match the bush, but also a beauty that is sometimes hidden.

This novel covers so many important issues, suicide, bullying, sexuality, alcohol, mental illness, responsibility and more, and to cover these in one novel and to do it so well is impressive.

I completely wasn’t expecting one of the relationships that formed between Jack and one of the characters, but wow it was beautiful in so many ways.

IMG_20190514_200846

This is a story that will stay with me for a long time. It is one that I think I will want to pick up and read again.

 

 

Thanks to Rachael Wright for providing me with a digital copy for me to read and review honestly.

Amazon AU

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Goodreads

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Lost Boy by Rachael Wright

Leave a comment