New Release Book Review: The Invention of Wings by Robin Knight

With The Invention of Wings, Robin Knight’s new Mulligan’s Mill series is off to a good start.

I enjoyed meeting and getting to know Mitch and Gage and of course Gage’s niece Ginny who was quite the character and helped bring Mitch and Gage together again, though I think they’d have got their eventually even without her help as they still had so many feelings towards each other.

Mitch’s sister Maggie wasn’t my favourite character and I’m only guessing she has some sort of intellectual disability because that’s how she came across to me. Her hoarding was out of control, I’ve seen this myself within my own family and Mitch did a good job of helping her clean the house out, she might need help down the track unless she continues to get a lot of support from Mitch and her friends.

I liked the way Ginny’s dream to fly on the ice brought Mitch, Gage, Maggie and their friend Bud together giving them all a project to work on. I thought this project was of great benefit to Maggie as she had a real need to be needed and seen as able.

There was the bad guys, Gage’s father and evil stepmother who caused some drama for them all, but good won out in the end, you can’t have a romance with a sad ending.

I’m looking forward to getting to know Aunt Bea better, she seems like she will be quite the character.

I’ll be looking out for more from Mulligan’s Mill.

Add to Goodreads


About the book

♥ Small Town MM Romance
♥ Second Chance at Love
♥ Enemies-to-Lovers
♥ Found Family


MITCH

‘Wings’. That was the nickname they gave me in the lead-up to the Olympics. I was ready to take home the gold for figure skating, ready to make all my dreams come true… all but one… the dream of finding true love. That dream ended the night I lost the only man I ever wanted, betrayed by fear, by doubt, by him. It was a moment that led to my downfall on the ice rink and the ultimate humiliation. And so I did what any broken spirit would do… I fled my hometown of Mulligan’s Mill, determined never to return.

That is until I got the call from Doc Morgan, letting me know that my sister Maggie’s hoarding habit was getting out of control. Now it seems Mulligan’s Mill is calling me back… back to face the past. Is it possible for a fallen hero to find his dignity once more? Is it possible for a man to return home and not make the same mistakes twice? Is it possible to pretend the past never even existed… or was I destined to re-live it all over again?

GAGE

He was the rising star of the ice-skating rink. I was the captain of the football team with a bright future under the Friday night lights. We had everything… promise, potential, each other. Then one night I freaked out, I pushed him away, and nothing was ever the same again. In the years since Mitch had left Mulligan’s Mill, my life was turned upside-down by a family tragedy. Now, as the sole carer of my wheelchair-bound niece Ginny, I spend every waking hour working part-time jobs to keep the roof over our heads. I barely get a minute to think about my shattered dreams of becoming a football star… but I still think about him… every single day.

When I find out that Mitch is returning to Mulligan’s Mill, the news triggers a wave of excitement and regret. Was what we had real, or just a foolish young fling? Would the flame re-ignite once more if we saw each other on the street, or would he turn around and walk away like we never met? Would I finally find the courage to talk to him again, or would fear get the better of me just like it did on the night I broke both our hearts?

The Invention of Wings is the first book in a Small Town MM Romance series set in Mulligan’s Mill… a small town with big hearts!

One thought on “New Release Book Review: The Invention of Wings by Robin Knight

Leave a comment